Got A Question?
800-299-9470
Customer Reviews
Home> Appliances> Cooktops> Electric Cooktops > Maytag MEC9536BS 36 Inch Electric Smoothtop Cooktop
Discontinued No longer available.

Add for Price Request
This item has been replaced by:
Whirlpool G7CE3635XB
$857.24
Latest Replacement
View
Maytag Products

Maytag MEC9536BS

36 Inch Electric Smoothtop Cooktop
★★★★★ ★★★★★
(65)

36 Inch Electric Smoothtop Style Cooktop with in Stainless Steel

Quick Specs: View More

  • Cutout Width: 36.4375"
  • Width: 36.4375"
  • Control Type: Knobs
  • Type: Cooktop
Location: Ashburn, VA 20149 [Change]

Recommended Accessories

Zwilling 64080-005 Spirit 3-Pl...
$231.99

Qty: Add to Item
Remove From Item

MasterChef - Original Series 1...
$425.71

Qty: Add to Item
Remove From Item

Demeyere 40850-655 Atlantis 3-...
$463.99

Qty: Add to Item
Remove From Item

Zwilling 66080-001 Aurora 5-Pl...
$579.99

Qty: Add to Item
Remove From Item

Zwilling 66080-000 Aurora 5-Pl...
$695.99

Qty: Add to Item
Remove From Item

Zwilling Collection 39432-000 ...
$92.79

Qty: Add to Item
Remove From Item

J.A. 39360-000 Henckels Intern...
$115.99

Qty: Add to Item
Remove From Item

Zwilling J.A. 39137-000 Hencke...
$173.99

Qty: Add to Item
Remove From Item

Zwilling 35168-100 J.A. Hencke...
$173.99

Qty: Add to Item
Remove From Item

Miyabi 34189-001 Kaizen 4-Pc S...
$579.99

Qty: Add to Item
Remove From Item

Product Description

This 36 in. Maytag cooktop offers two Dual-Choice elements that provide pan-size flexibility and offer a powerful output of up to 3,000 watts so you can easily boil water quickly. Lower-heat single elements can be used to prepare sauces, to brown or sauté foods and to keep food at a low temperature. All four radiant elements offer fast visual response and even heating for everything, from boiling to simmering. Maintenance for the Maytag cooktop is a breeze with the smooth-top glass, ceramic surface, which is scratch- and shatter-resistant, and cooktop knobs that can be removed and placed in the dishwasher for easy cleaning. Available at AppliancesConnection

Features:

Dual-Choice elements
Allow you to use whatever pan you want. Start off with a large stockpot and then switch to a small saucepan with just the turn of a dial.

10-Year Limited Parts Warranty
Backed by a 10-year limited parts warranty on the elements and ceramic glass, these cooktops are dependably built for cooking you can count on.

Heavy-duty die cast metal knobs
Die-cast, solid metal control knobs are easy to use and provide a premium appearance and feel. Plus, they have the durability you expect from Maytag brand.

Shatter-resistant glass
Stringently tested for ultimate reliability, the glass resists scratches, chips and cracks. Plus, it's backed by a 10-year limited parts warranty on the cooktop.

Endurance tested elements
Maytag cooktop elements are tested for long life so you can cook with confidence knowing these elements will handle pressure when the heat is on.

Designed, engineered, assembled in the U.S.A. Assembled in Cleveland, TN

Hot surface indicator light
Illuminates when the cooktop surface is hot to the touch, even after the heating element has been turned off.

Specifications:

Dimensions
Width: 36.4375"
Depth: 21.75"
Height: 3.75"
Exterior Width: 36"
General Specifications
Fuel Type: Electric
Style: Smoothtop
Type: Drop-In
Color: Stainless Steel
Surface Color: Black
Trim Color: Stainless Steel
Burners: 5
Control Type: Knobs
Hot Surface Indicator Light: Yes
Electrical Requirements
Volts: 120 Volts
Amps: 40 Amps
Frequency: 60 Hz.

 

Mail-in Rebates

Maytag - October Rebate with Bonus Up To $500

Maytag - October Rebate with Bonus Up To $500

Buy any eligible Maytag Appliances - Dishwasher, Range, Wall Oven, Cooktop, Refrigerator, Microwave, Washer, Dryer and receive up to $500 Mail-In Rebate.
For more details please see rebate form.
Must purchase between September 27 - October 31, 2018

To submit your claim online, please go to www.necoonlinerebates.com

Note: Serial Numbers are required to receive payment. Claims must be submitted online by 12/31/2018Valid: 09/27/2018 - 10/31/2018 Download PDF Download Rebate Form

Additional Rebates

Buy more, save more. Watch your savings grow.

Buy more, save more. Watch your savings grow.

A minimum of 2 items must be added to the cart to be qualified. The qualifying discount amount depends on the brand and the value of your cart and item(s) total. If you qualify for the AppliancesConnection exclusive instant savings discount you will see a green badge below the items in your cart with the amount of savings for shopping with us.Valid: 01/31/2014 - 10/23/2018 Download PDF Download Rebate Form

Maytag - August Rebate with Bonus Up To $500

Maytag - August Rebate with Bonus Up To $500

Buy any eligible Maytag Appliances - Dishwasher, Range, Wall Oven, Cooktop, Refrigerator, Microwave, Washer, Dryer and receive up to $500 Mail-In Rebate.
For more details please see rebate form.
Must purchase between August 1 - September 12, 2018

To submit your claim online, please go to www.necoonlinerebates.com

Note: Serial Numbers are required to receive payment. Claims must be submitted online by 11/12/2018Valid: 08/01/2018 - 09/12/2018 Download PDF Download Rebate Form

Please Note: It is the sole responsibility of the customer to download, fill up and mail the rebate within the allotted time period. Please make sure to follow all instructions. AppliancesConnection cannot be held responsible for rebates which are denied or not claimed.

Get Adobe Reader You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print pdf files.

    Model

  • Brand: Maytag
  • SKU: MEC9536BS
  • UPC: 883049272474
  • Stock Id: 333038
  • Product Number: MEC9536BS
  • Warranty Info: Brand New Factory Sealed With 1 Year USA Warranty

    This product is Brand New with full manufacturer warranty

    Appearance

  • Type: Cooktop
  • Fuel Type: Electric
  • Style: Smoothtop
  • Induction: No
  • Grill: No
  • Griddle: No
  • Downdraft Venting: No
  • Color: Stainless Steel
  • Control Type: Knobs

    Details

  • Volts: 240 Volts
  • Amps: 40 Amps
  • Sabbath Mode: No

    Dimensions

  • Exterior Width: 36"
  • Cutout Width: 36.4375"
  • Depth: 21.75"
  • Width: 36.4375"
  • Height: 3.75"

    Technical Details

  • Burners: 5
  • Hot Surface Indicator Light: Yes
  • Cooktop: Cooktop
  • Set 1 QTY: 1
  • Set 1 Output: 3000
  • Modules Required: No
  • Set 2 QTY: 2
  • Set 2 Output: 1200
  • Set 3 QTY: 1
  • Set 3 Output: 700
  • Weight: 50.00 lbs

Questions & Answers

Ask The First Question

Questions about the product?

Is the product durable or easy to use?

Customer Reviews

Overall Rating ☆☆☆☆☆ ★★★★★ 4.2
Ease of Use 4.2
Meet Expectations 4.2
Bang for Your Buck 4.2
Average rating out of 65 reviews
Sort:

Customer Reviews

LOVE MY MAYTAG

By  from Orange County, CA, United States  Verified Owner
Overall Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆ ★★★★★ 5

Recommended Product:

I DID ALLOT OF RESEARCH ON ALL STOVE TOPS. I REALLY HAD A HARD TIME BECAUSE I HAD THE OLD 'THERMADOR W/CAST IRON BURNERS'. I LOVED ITS LONGEVITY (1985) IT WAS STILL WORKING, BUT COULDN'T GET PARTS FOR IT ANYMORE. MY RESEARCH BOUGHT ME ALL THE WAY TO 'MAYTAG' - NO MATTER WHAT THE PRICE ON STOVE TOPS, I COULDN'T FIND ONE THAT WOULD GUARANTEE THEIR PRODUCT LIKE 'MAYTAG' DOES. I'VE ONLY HAD IT A MONTH, BUT I AM HAPPY SO FAR WITH ITS PERFORMANCE & BEAUTY.


Written by a customer while visiting www.maytag.com


Love this cooktop!

By  from Elkton, MD  Verified Owner
Overall Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆ ★★★★★ 5

Recommended Product:

This is a great product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]


Written by a customer while visiting www.maytag.com


Easy Cooking with fast temperature response time.

By  from Illinois  Verified Owner
Overall Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆ ★★★★★ 5

Recommended Product:

This replaced a 17 year old cooktop that was another brand due to a kitchen remodel that included a new quartz counter top. The controls on the Maytag cooktop are easy to use for either single or dual element, and the temperature response time is vastly improved from the old one, making cooking easier. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]


Written by a customer while visiting www.maytag.com


Won't live up to expectations...

By  from Texas  Verified Owner
Overall Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆ ★★★★★ 2

THE GOOD - Installed this Feb 2015 and was very happy with the way it looked on our island. Nearly 2-years later, we haven't had any performance issues. Only option was electric and this product seemed to be the best price/performance mix at the time of purchase. THE JUST OK - While the cooktop has not stopped working and we haven't issues with operation, it does take a very long time to heat up your foods and brutally long to boil water. If you are used to cooking with gas, you will not be super happy with this type of cooktop. If you cook often with a lot of pans, the small front burners could be better placed as sometime pans to fit as you want. ALSO - as other reviewers have stated, you have to be very committed in order to keep this thing clean. I'm sure this is the nature of this type of product, but if you cook a lot, know you will be cleaning a lot. THE BAD - Glass cooktop chipped and a large crack has occurred near the knob location. Sure, we must of caused it, but neither cook in the house can remember when the chip/crack happened. Note - the warranty won't cover this type of accidental coverage and there is NO fix for this type of issue. My reasoning for a 2-star review is simply the lack of either a better design (full frame) or warranty coverage makes purchasing this cooktop a high-risk proposition.


Written by a customer while visiting www.maytag.com


works as expected

By  from Fayetteville, GA  Verified Owner
Overall Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆ ★★★★★ 5

Recommended Product:

Have only been using it for a few weeks but so far, so good. Love the flexibility of the two dual-size burners as well as the fifth burner that is handy for keeping things warm. Heats up fast! I dislike the fact that the black surface shows every bit of lint, dust, or smudge but that's not a function of the cooktop. The knobs arrived scuffed, but I haven't yet asked the appliance store about replacing them so I can't comment on that. One feature I have to get used to is the way the knobs turn. They don't have an arrow or lined indicator on them so I find myself sometimes turning to "single" burner rather than "dual" and vice versa. (I took one star off the "ease of use" category because of that.) But I will become accustomed to that in time. I didn't rate the "sound levels" for this since there aren't any to speak of. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]


Written by a customer while visiting www.maytag.com


nice but hard to keep clean

By  from springfield, il  Verified Owner
Overall Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆ ★★★★★ 4

Recommended Product:

heats fairly well and quickly on larger burners. Smaller burner take a long time. Capacity is great but have a hard time having five pots on it at once. Scratches very easily and has to be continuously cleaned since it shows every bit of dust and finger print [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]


Written by a customer while visiting www.maytag.com


I love it!

By  from Watkinsville GA  Verified Owner
Overall Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆ ★★★★★ 5

Recommended Product:

We purchased the 36 inch cooktop a couple of months ago to replace an ancient Thermador cooktop. The solid surface cooktop heats up quickly and the dual units match the pan sizes exactly. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]


Written by a customer while visiting www.maytag.com


Good cooktop

By  from TX  Verified Owner
Overall Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆ ★★★★★ 4

Recommended Product:

So far so good. Some features missing are hot surface indicator for each burner and knobs indicator which side is on or off. May be move biggest burner to front and move one small one to back side. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]


Written by a customer while visiting www.maytag.com


Stove Top

By  from Missouri City Texas  Verified Owner
Overall Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆ ★★★★★ 5

Recommended Product:

I bough this stovetop one month ago


Written by a customer while visiting www.maytag.com


Works

By  from Miami, Fl.  Verified Owner
Overall Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆ ★★★★★ 3

Recommended Product:

I bought this cooktop to replace an Amana cooktop. Works ok, but the quality is not the best, the price is good, the burner in the middle for warm is a waste of space, the two lateral burners are two small for medium pans. There should be one medium in one side. So far, so good. I missed I used to have an indicator of which burner was hot and not only one who indicates there is a burner that is hot. the switch doesn't indicate a number, I missed that too. I saw better ones, but more expensive and that occupy more space in width. That one is ok.


Written by a customer while visiting www.maytag.com


1-10 of 65

Get paid to review this product!

If you have used this product, simply log in and share your text, video and photo review of it!
View our rewards program page for details

Submit a text review
Earn $5.00

Submit a photo review
Earn $7.50
Submit a video review
Earn $10.00
WRITE A REVIEW
Upload File Icon Preview Kitchen My Account Phone Cart Orders Tickets Wishlist Notifications My Account Track Your Order Log Out Article Appliances Connection Blog Facebook Twitter Google+ YouTube Pinterest Instagram Video Star Wishlist Refer To Friends Share This Print Rewards Program List View Grid View Dual Fuel Electric Gas Liquid Propane Natural Gas Woodburning GE Fit Guaranteed Cooling Only Provide Cooling and Heating Rebate Redemption Free 3-Year Warranty White Glove Delivery Service Free Installation Service Free Removal Services Color Spectrum Payment Methods Brands Navigation Deals Navigation Download This Rebate Free Installation Service White Glove Delivery Service Warranty-Check Free Removal Services