GE Profile PGP986SETSS

PGP986SETSS 36" Gas Cooktop with 5 Sealed Burners, 20,000 BTU Tri-Ring Burner, Precise Simmer Burner, Heavy Cast Grates, Griddle Accessory and LED Backlit Knobs

Labor Day Sale

Share:

Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
View and share related images
GE Profile Products
Model #:

GE Profile PGP986SETSS

   Compare
GE Profile PGP986SETSS 36" Gas Cooktop with 5 Sealed Burners, 20,000 BTU Tri-Ring Burner, Precise Simmer Burner, Heavy Cast Grates, Griddle Accessory and LED Backlit Knobs
Availability: In Stock [Details] QuickShip



Was: $1,418.90
Was: $1758.90
Labor Day Sale: -$159.90(9%)
Shipping: FREE
Today's Price: $1,599.00
Labor Day Sale
Add to Cart for Final Price Including Discounts
(Why don't we show the price?)

Qty:

SKU: PGP986SETSS
Condition:Brand New Factory Sealed With 1 Year USA Warranty
For installation promos & shipping promos.

Product Promotion


0% Easy Financing! No Payments, No interest for 6 Months
Select Installation / Haul Away for Cooktops:
Cooktop Installation + Cooktop Removal: $0.00 $218.99
Removal Of 1 Appliance: $0.00 $39.99
Installation of Cooktop: $0.00 $149.99

Payment Options Why Buy From Us



GE Profile Products
Quick Specs:
Model
Brand: GE Profile
SKU: PGP986SETSS
Stock Id: SID198926
Series: Profile Series
Appearance
Color: Stainless Steel
Type: Cooktop
Style: Sealed Burner
Fuel Type: Gas
Cooktop: Cooktop
Induction: No
Dimensions
Width: 36"
Height: 3.25"
Depth: 20.75"
Cutout Width: 33.875"
Cutout Depth: 19.125"
Features
Burners: 5
Control Type: Knobs
Volts: 120 Volts
Technical Details
Weight: 49 lbs
Sabbath Mode: No
Amps: 15A
Hot Surface Indicator Light: No
Ignition Type: Electronic
LP Conversion: Yes
ADA Compliant: Yes
Actual Width: 36"
Continuous Grates: Yes
Set 1 QTY: 1
Set 1 Output: 20000
Downdraft Venting: No
Modules Required: No
Set 2 QTY: 1
Set 2 Output: 11000
Set 3 QTY: 2
Set 3 Output: 9100
Set 4 QTY: 1
Set 4 Output: 5000
Series: Profile
LP Conversion Kit: Included
Grill: No
Griddle: No
Surface Color: Stainless Steel
Star-K Certified: No
Trim Color: Stainless Steel
Hertz: 60Hz
Usage: Residential

Appliance Accessories


Ecosential ECOS Stainless Steel Cleaner, 18 oz $9.99

Whirlpool 31625 Re-useable Microfiber Cleaning Cloth $14.95

The GE PGP986SETSS gas cooktop features a deep-recessed design, a 20,000 BTU tri-ring burner, a Precise Simmer burner and a cast-iron griddle accessory. The knobs are backlit to indicate when burners are on and both the knobs and the heavy-cast grates are dishwasher-safe.


Description:

GE Profile™ 36" Built-In Gas Cooktop will satisfy your every need. GE's reputation ensures that this cooktop will last and be efficient.

Features:

  • Deep-recessed cooktop contains spills in one area that's easy to wipe clean
  • Burner elements are sealed to the cooktop to keep foods and liquid contained on the cooktop, making cleaning painless
  • Three-in-one burner is designed for accelerated boiling and gentle simmering
  • Allows for low, even heat distribution that is ideal for delicate foods and sauces
  • Premium cast iron grates deliver the highest level of cooktop performance
  • Sleek LED backlit knobs indicate when burners are on
  • Feature durable construction for worry-free, effortless cleaning and maintenance

Specifications:

Appearance

  • Color Appearance: Stainless Steel
  • Control Knobs: White LED BacklitStainless Steel Appearance (Weighted)Dishwasher Safe

Features

  • Cooktop Burner Type: 5 Sealed
  • Cooktop Surface Deep: Stainless Steel
  • Ignition System: Electronic
  • All-Purpose Burners: (2) 9,100 BTU
  • High Output Burner: (1) 11,000 BTU
  • Precise Simmer Burner: (1) 5,000 BTU
  • Tri-Ring Burner: (1) 20,000 BTU / 140F degree simmer
  • Control Type: ManualSimmer (1-9) Hi
  • Cooktop Control Features: Child LockGriddle Control
  • Control Location: Front Center
  • Cooktop Burner Grate Features: Matte BlackContinuous GratesDishwasher SafeSelf-Clean
  • Cooktop Burner Grate Material: Heavy Cast
  • Fuel Type: Natural Gas (factory set)
  • Valves (Degree of Turn): 270
  • Griddle: Cast Iron

Power / Ratings

  • Burner BTU Ratings (000's/BTU) - LP Gas: (1) 15.0; (1) 10.0; (2) 9.1; (1) 5.0
  • Burner BTU Ratings (000's/BTU) - Natural Gas: (1) 20.0; (1) 11.0; (2) 9.1; (1) 5.1
  • Volts/Hertz/Amps: 120V; 60Hz; 5A

Warranty

  • Parts Warranty: Limited 1-year entire appliance
  • Labor Warranty: Limited 1-year entire appliance
  • Warranty Notes: See written warranty for full details

Weights & Dimensions

  • Approximate Shipping Weight: 54.0
  • Cabinet Width: 36.0
  • Cutout Dimensions (Width x Depth) (In.): 33-7/8 x 19-1/8
  • Net Weight (lbs.): 49.0
  • Overall Depth: 20.75
  • Overall Height: 3.25
  • Overall Width: 36.0

GE Profile PGP986SETSS Reviews & Ratings

PGP986SETSS 36" Gas Cooktop with 5 Sealed Burners, 20,000 BTU Tri-Ring Burner, Precise Simmer Burner, Heavy Cast Grates, Griddle Accessory and LED Backlit Knobs is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best cooktop we've ever had I read a lot of reviews of this product, and was initially wary -- were to grates too high for cooking? Was the layout bad? etc. All for naught. We went from a cracked, black-glass electric cooktop to this and couldn't be happier. The grates are NOT too far from your pans. My favorite is it cleans like a dream. A wipe with a damp cloth and you're done. It keeps its shine. Cooking is fast - especially with the powerboil setting. It can hold big pots. it browns things evenly. I like the childproof gas lock, too. I keep it on when I'm not cooking. Overall, this was a beautiful buy. The design is stellar. It cleans and cooks great.
Date published: 2014-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the fifth burner! We got a really sweet deal on this after a lot of haggling and I do love the 5th burner and use it almost exclusively. You can have a 4 qt sauce pan on one of the front burners and use the big spaghetti pot in the middle. They fit. The only draw back to this is the placement of the knobs in the center. Looks pretty, but everything drips on them and there is a safety issue. My husband takes baking sheets out of the oven and places them on the heavy duty grids, fine. One time the edge of the pan was leaning on the knob and gas was escaping. That is why there is a lock on the knobs. We only discovered it when we smelled gas.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WooHoo Gas cooking! This cooktop replaced an old electric cooktop that I hated. In my old home I had a GE gas...loved it. Moved here and had to relearn how to cook on electric. After 5 years we finally did a complete kitchen remodel Went with all GE and the first appliance I chose was this cooktop all other appliances were choosen around this. I love gas cooking. This cooktop is super functional with the power boil feature, the built in griddle, child safety locks...well just everything. The quality of the grates heavy and sturdy. Switching back to gas from electric....like riding a bicycle!!! I have a convection oven under this cooktop and together they compliment each other beautifully. Thanks GE
Date published: 2012-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gas cooktop I have had GE gas cooktops in the past, so when we started building our new home I wanted to look at GE first because of the quality and ease of use.  This one is really nice with the extra cook area for large pots in the center.  My only disappointment with my cooktop is the distance between the grates.  I wish they were a little closer.  Some of my smaller pots make me a little nervous when I use them.  I do have to make sure I don't get them off the grates.  This is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars.  It's really easy to clean and use otherwise, and I'm pleased with it overall.
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cooktop Grates Too High. Not energy efficient. Cooktop PGP986SETSS. Cooktops are generally not displayed in stores so the only way to buy them is looking at catelog or pictures online. This cooktop is good looking but its grates are desingned in such a way that those are too high about 2 inches from burner and then + grates are 1/2 inch thick. So it is 2.5 inches from burner and takes almost 7-8 minutes for making a cup of tea. Wheras in my old house I had a 12 year old gas range without a power burner that would make me a tea in 3 minutes in the same pan on the smallest burner. The august bill of gas in my old house was $30 on an average and in this house it is $65 when there is no heating on. So both houses can be compared. Can grates from any other series like cafe etc fit on it if they are lower.
Date published: 2012-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Gas cooktop Builder put this product in our new home and we are not happy about it. The problem with this stove is that the grates are too tall, hence it takes longer to heat smaller pans and pots up than another stove. It takes 20 minutes to boil one cup of water when it used to take 2 minutes on our old stove. We love the features and the appearance, but we wish the grates were a quarter to half an inch lower. When I wipe the stove with wet sponge we get rusty stain marks.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am disappointed that it does not have a timer built in. The simmer burners are wonderful and just keep food warm without burning the pan. It doens't have a timer which I miss. The large middle burner has not been used much yet, but I hope to use it for canning. The griddle needed sufficient seasoning. I had a sticky mess on the first batch of pancakes, but the rest, after another layer of veg. oil came out fine, and everything past that. It looks fabulous on my new granite counter top.
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Grates are too high The problem with this stove is that the grates are too tall, hence it takes longer to heat smaller pans and pots up than another stove. It takes 20 minutes to boil one cup of water when it used to take 6 minutes on our old GE profile cook top. We love the features and the appearance, but we wish the grates were a quarter to half an inch lower.
Date published: 2013-07-22

Shipping Methods & Details


  • Please enter your shipping ZIP Code to get available shipping methods and cost:


This item is brand new and comes with a full manufacturer warranty. Please refer to the table below for details

Extended Service Plan Center

Membership Benefits:
  • 100% Parts and Labor
  • No Deductibles
  • No Lemon Guarantee
  • Fully Transferable
  • Toll-Free Support
  • Worry Free For Up to 5 Years
  • Nationwide Coverage
  • Rapid Claim System
  • Electronic Registration
Coverage/Features Extended Service Plan Typical Manufacturer Warranty
Coverage Length
Up to 5 Years including parts and labor 1 Year Parts, 90 Days Labor
Wear and Tear(Normal Use)
Yes -
Product Replacement (If Product Cannot be Fixed)
Yes -
Power Surges
Yes -
Optional Accidental Damage
Yes -
Screen or Lens Replacement
Yes -
Worldwide
Yes -
Transferrable
Yes -
24/7 Toll Free Help
Yes -
No Lemon Policy
Yes -
Authorized Service Centers in Most Locations
Yes -

Top questions regarding warranties

1. What exactly is an Extended Service Plan?
2. How is this different than the manufacturer's warranty?
3. How do I buy an Extended Service Plan?
4. Can I renew my Consumer Priority Service extended service plan?
5. What should I do if I need extended service?
6. Who will perform the service on my product?
7. May I transfer my extended service plan to another person?
8. Will I have to pay a deductible or any other "hidden costs"?
9. When does my warranty start?
10. Why does my plan say "under $1000"?
11. What does an accidental plan cover?
12. Is my service plan worldwide?
13. Who do I contact with further questions?


What exactly is an Extended Service Plan?
An extended service plan is generally an extension of your original manufacturer's warranty. Most manufacturers warranty their products to be free from defects for up to one year from the date of purchase. This warranty virtually guarantees you that if your newly purchased product fails, the manufacturer will protect you from the high costs of replacement parts and labor necessary to repair your product. Extended service plans lengthen your product's coverage for up to an additional 60 months (5 years) to insure you get years of performance satisfaction from your newly purchased product.
How is this different than the manufacturer's warranty?
A manufacturer's warranty usually offers limited coverage for a limited time, with parts and labor carrying separate lengths of coverage. For example, a common manufacturer warranty of a product might cover a consumer for one full year on parts defects but only 90 days on the high cost of labor involved to change those parts. Extended service plans provide comprehensive, long term, even length coverage. This means that should your product fail within your plans coverage time frame, both parts and labor costs are covegrey.
How do I buy an Extended Service Plan?
Extended Service Plans can be purchased along with your product online, or via our toll free number.
Can I renew my Consumer Priority Service extended service plan?
Yes, service plans are renewable and must be submitted 30 days prior to the original plans expiration. Please contact a sales representative to discuss your renewal options.
What should I do if I need extended service?
Our extended service providers offer an easy to use interactive form online which you may use to request that they initiate a claim on your product. Your other alternative is to call the toll-free number on your extended warranty card or email and have a qualified representative make this request for you with the information you will provide. We believe that our claim initiation request process is the absolute best our industry has to offer. It is designed for simplicity and speed.
Who will perform the service on my product?
Our company works with over 11,000 authorized service professionals. Each technician is extensively trained by the respective manufacturers to provide service on your products. Authorized technicians must complete annual and bi-annual continued education exams in addition to being well versed in manufacturer supplied update bulletins to ensure their level of expertise is as current as the new products which come to market. We urge our customers to provide feedback regarding their experiences which we later use to insure that the level of service we are expected to provide is exactly the level of service you receive.
May I transfer my extended service plan to another person?
Our service plans are 100% transferable. If you would like transfer ownership of the covegrey product along with its coverage, we require that the request be supplied in writing. For assistance please contact a Representative. Please have all of the new owner's information at hand when requesting a transfer.
Will I have to pay a deductible or any other "hidden costs"?
Generally, the amount of a deductible is almost always proportional to the amount of the premium charged. In order to have a lower deductible, even as low as $0, the plan holder would generally have to agree to a higher premium. For those who want lower premiums, they must agree to a higher deductible. Our extended service plans carry a $0.00 deductible along with low premiums. This means that with an extended service plan there are no high upfront costs and they are committed to cover 100% parts and labor costs on any authorized claim.
When does my warranty start?
Depending on the type of coverage you own, an extended warranty begins at the conclusion of the shortest portion of the manufacturer’s warranty. If the manufacturer’s warranty was 90 day labor and 1 year parts, the extended warranty would begin on the 91st day and continue for the duration of the warranty period. All replacement, commercial and accidental plans begin on the date of purchase.
Why does my plan say "under $1000"?
Some plans carry a dollar value on them. This means that your product's purchase price, excluding tax, delivery and accessories is below the listed price on the contract. It's simply a classification based on the price of purchase of the product under warranty.
What does an accidental plan cover?
If you have added Accidental Coverage to your plan, this plan shall cover unintentional damages as a result of: impact, liquid damage or unintentional physical damage. Accidental Coverage does not cover intentional damages of any kind to the covered product or losses due to theft. Accidental Coverage does not cover willful damage, misuse, damage due to neglect, drops over 6 feet, fire damage or full immersion in water.

Accidental Coverage does not cover damage caused by the use of a product in a way the manufacturer never intended. Coverage for this plan shall begin 30 days after the date of purchase of the covered product.
Is my service plan worldwide?
All plans carry a worldwide option at no additional charge. Contact a sales professional for further details.
Who do I contact with further questions?
Please contact a sales professional at 1-800-299-9470.


Warranty Options
$49.99
Purchase This Warranty $79.99 Purchase This Warranty
$79.99 Purchase This Warranty $99.99 Purchase This Warranty
$89.99 Purchase This Warranty $149.99 Purchase This Warranty
$99.99 Purchase This Warranty $179.99 Purchase This Warranty
$149.99 Purchase This Warranty $219.99 Purchase This Warranty

Current Rebates:


Buy more, save more. Watch your savings grow.
(Valid: 02/01/2014 - 08/22/2014)
[Download Rebate Form]

A minimum of 2 items must be added to the cart to be qualified. The qualifying discount amount depends on the brand and the value of your cart and item(s) total. If you qualify for the AppliancesConnection exclusive instant savings discount you will see a green badge below the items in your cart with the amount of savings for shopping with us.

GE $2000 Consumer Rebate
(Valid: 08/21/2014 - 10/19/2014)
[Download Rebate Form]

Purchase 8 eligible appliances and get $2000 rebate
Purchase 7 eligible appliances and get $1250 rebate
Purchase 6 eligible appliances and get $1000 rebate
Purchase 5 eligible appliances and get $750 rebate
Purchase 4 eligible appliances and get $500 rebate
Purchase 3 eligible appliances and get $300 rebate
Purchase 2 eligible appliances and get $100 rebate

GE Kitchen $500 Delivery and Installation
(Valid: 08/09/2014 - 09/01/2014)
[Download Rebate Form]

Up to $500 off GE Kitchen Package Bonus

Purchase with delivery and installation 5 eligible appliances and get $500 rebate
Purchase with delivery and installation 4 eligible appliances and get $400 rebate
Purchase with delivery and installation 3 eligible appliances and get $300 rebate

****ONLY ONE MODEL PER CATEGORY QUALIFIES FOR THE PACKAGE REBATE****

Please Note: It is the sole responsibility of the customer to download, fill up and mail the rebate within the allotted time period. Please make sure to follow all instructions. AppliancesConnection cannot be held responsible for rebates which are denied or not claimed.


You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print pdf files.